clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jones, Nguyen Added to Provisional USMNT Roster for Playoff Match Against Mexico

Ahead of a crucial playoff match against Mexico, Jurgen Klinsmann unveiled his provisional roster. Two familiar faces made the list.

Steve Flynn-USA TODAY Sports

With a trip to the 2017 Confederations Cup on the line, Jurgen Klinsmann named his 35-man provisional roster for the United States' CONCACAF Cup showdown with Mexico. While Klinsmann's roster presents few surprises, one man—Revolution midfielder Lee Nguyen—has worked his way back into the fold. Nguyen is joined by USMNT mainstay Jermaine Jones.

After making substitute appearances against Chile on Jan. 28 and Panama on Feb 8., Nguyen landed on Klinsmann's 35-man provisional roster for the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup. Nguyen failed to make the cut, however, and spent the summer finding his form with the Revolution. Jones missed the action with a sports hernia.

Now, with a chance to put the Gold Cup behind him, Klinsmann has called both midfielders into U.S. camp. Nguyen and Jones will compete with 10 other midfielders for a shot at the final 23-man roster, which will be comprised of players on Klinsmann's initial 35-man list. The final roster will be unveiled in the coming weeks.

Match Info:

Date: Saturday, Oct. 10, 2015

Venue: Rose Bowl, Pasadena, Calif.

Kickoff: 6:30PM ET

Provisional USMNT Roster:

Goalkeepers (4) - Brad Guzan (Aston Villa/England); Bill Hamid (D.C. United/USA); Tim Howard (Everton/England); Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake/USA)

Defenders (12) - Ventura Alvarado (Club America/Mexico); DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo/USA); Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City/USA); John Brooks (Hertha Berlin/Germany); Geoff Cameron (Stoke City/England); Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC/USA); Greg Garza (Atlas/Mexico); Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy/USA); Michael Orozco (Club Tijuana/Mexico); Tim Ream (Fulham/England); Jonathan Spector (Birmingham City/England); DeAndre Yedlin (Sunderland/England)

Midfielders (12) - Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake/USA); Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes/France); Michael Bradley (Toronto FC/Canada); Joe Corona (Veracruz/Mexico); Mix Diskerud (New York City FC/USA); Fabian Johnson (Borussia Mönchengladbach/Germany); Jermaine Jones (New England Revolution/USA); Alfredo Morales (FC Ingolstadt/Germany); Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution/USA); Danny Williams (Reading/England); Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy/USA); Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City/USA)

Forwards (7) - Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC/Canada); Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC/USA); Alan Gordon (LA Galaxy/USA); Aron Johansson (Werder Bremen/Germany); Jordan Morris (Stanford University/USA); Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes/USA); Bobby Wood (Union Berlin/Germany)