clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Revolution v. Real Salt Lake: Three Thoughts

Maybe we should call him "Big Save Bob" and two other thoughts.

Jeff Swinger-USA TODAY Sports

The New England Revolution grabbed a point on Saturday night after a scoreless draw with Real Salt Lake. The Revs had 12 shots (one on target) at Rio Tinto Stadium while the home side had 14 (two on target). Here are three thoughts from the tie.

1. It wasn't a great game, but it was a great result. The Revolution's only shot on frame didn't come until the 74th minute, an indication that this wasn't a game where both teams were fervently attacking. In fact, the Revs played disciplined soccer en route to grabbing their first-ever clean sheet at Rio Tinto Stadium. The stadium, nicknamed the RioT, has been a house of horrors for the Revs since it opened its doors in 2008. Before Saturday night, the Revolution were 0-5-1 when traveling to Sandy, Utah. More than a historic result, the game should serve as a confidence booster for the back line, who have looked shaky all year.

2. Maybe we should call him Big Save Bob. I think we all need to get on the same page here: Is Bobby Shuttleworth's nickname "Big Save Bob?" If he continues to put in performances like he did on Saturday night, maybe the moniker should become a full-time thing. Although he only made two stops, the Buffalo native was sensational against RSL. His first big moment came in the 14th minute when he denied Kyle Beckerman's point-blank header. In the 71st minute, Shuttleworth was called into action again, this time blocking Yura Movsisyan's shot from inside the box. Despite missing last week's game because of suspension, Shuttleworth showed no rust against RSL.

3. Kei Kamara committed a foul. The Revs had two solid looks on goal over the course of 90 minutes. One came when Lee Nguyen played a through ball to Diego Fagundez, but the Homegrown couldn't beat Nick Rimando (but he should have). The other opportunity came 21 minutes earlier when it appeared that Kamara had scored a goal. Referee Ismail Elfath would ultimately invalidate the tally. Although the call was late, it was correct. The striker doesn't grab Aaron Maund, but he does clip him. In the end, Elfath made the right call.