clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Did the Revolution deserve a PK against the Seattle Sounders?

New, 5 comments

Was referee Fotis Bazakos right to point to the spot?

Isaiah J. Downing-USA TODAY Sports

One week after burying a penalty against FC Dallas, Lee Nguyen was once again called upon to face down an opposing keeper. The silver-haired Nguyen made no mistake of the opportunity, putting the New England Revolution back on level terms with the Seattle Sounders. While the goal was good, the play that led to it was quite controversial.

In the 24th minute of Saturday's game, referee Fotis Bazakos blew his whistle, believing that Erik Friberg had handled the ball inside of the box. The Sounders' protests fell on deaf ears as the New England Revolution prepped for their third PK of the year.

Was Bazakos right to point to the spot?

Replays showed that the ball primarily hit Friberg's midsection. If there was any contact with the midfielder's arm, it was minimal and probably undeserving of a penalty.

What do you think of the call? Vote in our poll or let us know in the comments section below.