clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Revolution Exercise Options on 12 Players—Excluding Jordan McCrary

McCrary, Steve Neumann on the outside looking in as Revs exercise 12 of 14 player options.

MLS: U.S. Open Cup-New England Revolution at New York Cosmos Anthony Gruppuso-USA TODAY Sports

The Revolution took a first step toward shaping its 2017 roster on Monday by exercising options on 12 players, including mainstays Juan Agudelo, Chris Tierney and Andrew Farrell. With seven players already under contract through the 2017 season, the Revs will bring back a total of 19 players from 2016 (complete list below).

Jordan McCrary, the first club’s first pick in the 2016 SuperDraft, won’t be one of them. During his rookie season, McCrary made two appearances in the U.S. Open Cup and one appearance for the Rochester Rhinos on loan; he never appeared for the Revolution in a league match.

The decision to decline McCrary’s option caps a disappointing 2016 draft for the Revolution, as the club waived second-round pick Michael Gamble in June. Third rounder Femi Hollinger-Janzen—who will return for his sophomore campaign in 2017—now serves as the lone representative from the 2016 Revolution draft class.

Former first-round pick Steve Neumann (4th overall, 2014) also had his option declined. The one-time Georgetown standout made four appearances in 2016.

The Revolution offseason will continue on December 13, when inaugural MLS clubs Atlanta United and Minnesota United FC will each select five players during the MLS Expansion Draft. The Revs list of 11 protected players will be made public on December 12.

Ahead of the Expansion Draft, here is a snapshot of the 2017 Revolution roster:

Player options exercised:

FWD Juan Agudelo

FWD Teal Bunbury

GK Cody Cropper

DF Andrew Farrell

MF Zachary Herivaux

FWD Femi Hollinger-Janzen

GK Brad Knighton

DF Donnie Smith

DF Chris Tierney

GK Matt Turner

DF Je-Vaughn Watson

DF London Woodberry

Players under contract:

MF Scott Caldwell

MF Diego Fagundez

FW Kei Kamara

MF Xavier Kouassi (Designated Player)

MF Lee Nguyen

MF Kelyn Rowe

GK Bobby Shuttleworth

Player options declined:

DF Jordan McCrary

MF Steve Neumann

Players under contract until Dec. 31, 2016:

DF Darrius Barnes

DF José Gonçalves

MF Daigo Kobayashi

MF Gershon Koffie