Ayo Akinola scored his eighth goal of the year in the 29th minute of Wednesday’s game against the New England Revolution. The play, which began with a slick pass by Alejandro Pozuelo, came with some controversy due to Akinola’s interaction with Andrew Farrell.
Take a look for yourself.
Head coach and sporting director Bruce Arena expressed discontent with the play, believing that Farrell was fouled. He stated that he wasn’t impressed by the refereeing during his halftime interview.
New England Revolution color commentator had a different opinion of the play. He thought the goal should stand because Akinola was just showcasing his strength.
The goal did count, which put the the Revs at a 1-0 deficit at halftime. This was how the game ended, giving the Revs their first loss since Sept. 12.
What do you think of the game-winning goal? Was it a foul? Was it fair? Let us know in the comments section below.
Was Andrew Farrell fouled?
This poll is closed