clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Revolution to kick around with local youth as part of student scholar initiative

On Tuesday, Revs players and Academy coaches will host a skills clinic to celebrate area youth.

Revolution forward Kei Kamara (left) and goalkeeper Matt Turner (left center) train with local youth during last year’s soccer scholar celebration.
Santander Bank

Currently in the middle of a two-match road trip, the Revolution will have a chance to “play at home” next week. But this time, the competition may not feel as stiff as it’s felt in recent weeks.

That’s because the club won’t hit the field for a league match, but for a soccer clinic and celebration for area youth. The free event, scheduled for Tuesday, Aug. 29 from 3-5 p.m., marks the launch of the fourth annual Revolution & Santander Soccer Scholars program. The initiative honors select New England students with a VIP match day experience.

During the celebration, Cody Cropper, Chris Tierney, Scott Caldwell and Brad Knighton will team up with Academy coaches to lead students (age 6-17) through a skills clinic with drills, demonstrations and instruction. Hosted in partnership with the Esplanade Association, the family-friendly festivities will also include player signings and inflatable games. All the action will take place at Teddy Ebersol Fields along the Charles River.

As students kick around with top Revolution players, they’ll have a chance to wish the team luck before it takes on Orlando City SC on Saturday, Sept. 2. That match may feature two players—Caldwell and Diego Fagundez—who, as teenagers, received their own training from the Revolution Academy staff. Both players graduated from the Academy and went on to sign professional contracts with the Revolution.

Who knows: one of the youngsters who attends Tuesday’s clinic could develop into a future Academy standout.

The soccer clinic and celebration was originally scheduled for July 11, but poor weather postponed the event. This article was last updated on Aug. 25, 2017.