clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Does Kelyn Rowe deserve a spot on the U.S. Gold Cup roster?

Share your thoughts in this week’s open thread.

MLS: New England Revolution at Colorado Rapids Isaiah J. Downing-USA TODAY Sports

Ahead of the 2017 Gold Cup, Bruce Arena named 40 players to his preliminary tournament roster. National Team mainstays like Christian Pulisic and Alejandro Bedoya expectedly made the list, as did a handful of less familiar faces—like Revolution midfielder Kelyn Rowe.

Though Rowe has never featured for the U.S. Men’s National Team, he does have experience in the U.S. youth system, having played at the U-18, U-20 and U-23 levels. In 2011, he started for the U.S. during the CONCACAF U-20 Championship in Guatemala.

Now 25 and in his sixth professional season, Rowe has grown into an integral part of the Revolution attack (and back line). He scored five goals and contributed seven assists last season while claiming club MVP honors. And in 2017, he has enhanced his reputation as a do-it-all player by featuring in several different positions, from left back to forward and everywhere in-between.

Revolution fans understand Rowe’s value to the Revolution. But can he bring that same value to the USMNT? Could his creativity benefit the U.S. off the bench? We’ll find out on June 27, when Arena unveils his final, 23-man roster.

Share your thoughts on Rowe making the Gold Cup roster in the comments section below.

Preliminary U.S. Gold Cup roster:

Goalkeepers: Joe Bendik, Jesse Gonzalez, Brad Guzan, Bill Hamid, Tim Howard, Sean Johnson

Defenders: Matt Besler, Steve Birnbaum, Greg Garza, Omar Gonzalez, Matt Hedges, Eric Lichaj, Matt Miazga, Justin Morrow, Matt Polster, Jonathan Spector, Jorge Villafaña, Graham Zusi

Midfielders: Paul Arriola, Alejandro Bedoya, Michael Bradley, Joe Corona, Dax McCarty, Tommy McNamara, Darlington Nagbe, Kellyn Acosta, Chris Pontius, Christian Pulisic, Cristian Roldan, Kelyn Rowe, Kenny Saief, Wil Trapp, Gyasi Zardes

Forwards: Juan Agudelo, Jozy Altidore, Clint Dempsey, Dom Dwyer, Jordan Morris, C.J. Sapong, Chris Wondolowski