clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Revolution vs. Sounders: Lineups, TV info and match details

Everything you need to know about the week nine matchup.

MLS: Seattle Sounders FC at New England Revolution Bob DeChiara-USA TODAY Sports

The Revolution don’t concede many points at home. But last week, the club struggled to take care of business, settling for draws in back-to-back matches at Gillette Stadium.

That disappointing stretch will put added pressure on the Revs tonight, when they visit the defending champs in Seattle. Jay Heaps’ side has not looked particularly sharp on the road this season (0-3-1 record), while the Sounders have yet to lose (1-0-1 record).

To skew both trends, the Revolution will need to contain a Seattle attack that can throw numbers forward in a hurry. Clint Dempsey will demand most of the Revs’ attention, though supporting attackers Nicolas Lodeiro and Jordan Morris, plus lone forward Will Bruin, will keep the Revolution midfield and back line busy for all 90 minutes.

Meanwhile, the Revolution attack will head into its first match of the season without Designated Player Kei Kamara. The forward did not travel to Seattle as he and his wife anticipate the birth of their child. The Revs will rely on Juan Agudelo, Lee Nguyen and whoever else Jay Heaps inserts into his Starting XI to fuel an attack that has yet to completely click in 2017.

Can the Revs steal a point on the road? Catch the action at 10:00 p.m. ET.

Match Details

Kick-off time: 10:00 p.m. ET
Location: CenturyLink Field, Seattle, Wash.
TV Broadcast: CSN-NE (New England), Q13 FOX and Univision-Seattle (Seattle)
Streaming: MLS Live
Radio: 98.5 The Sports Hub (New England), KIRO 97.3 and El Rey 1360 (Seattle)

Projected Lineups

New England: Cody Cropper; Andrew Farrell, Josh Smith, Antonio Delamea, Chris Tierney; Xavier Kouassi, Scott Caldwell, Diego Fagundez, Kelyn Rowe; Lee Nguyen, Juan Agudelo

Seattle: Stefan Frei; Jordy Delem, Gustav Svensson, Tony Alfaro, Joevin Jones; Osvaldo Alonso, Cristian Roldan; Nicolas Lodeiro, Clint Dempsey, Jordan Morris; Will Bruin