clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Revolution vs. Timbers: Lineups, TV info and match details

The nationally televised match kicks off at 9 p.m. ET.

MLS: Portland Timbers at New England Revolution Stew Milne-USA TODAY Sports

Hungry for a second consecutive win, the Revolution will visit Darlington Nagbe and the Portland Timbers in Sunday night prime time.

The match, which airs on ESPN 2, features a Timbers side that has hit the ground running this season. The 2015 MLS Cup Champions won its first three outings by a combined score of 10-3 before falling to Columbus Crew SC last weekend. Argentine midfielder Diego Valeri has led the way for the Timbers thus far, scoring four goals (two from the spot) in 351 minutes of play.

Revolution goalkeeper Cody Cropper understands the test Valeri & Co. will pose.

“[The Timbers] have a very dynamic front four. It’s very similar to Dallas in that sense,” Cropper said in a team release. “They’re very attacking-minded, very good on the ball. We just have to stay defensively tight throughout the full 90 minutes—play a full 90 minutes and not 50, 60, 70.”

Cropper and the Revolution back line have looked in form through three matches, despite the challenges of starting new center backs Antonio Delamea and Benjamin Angoua—who played limited minutes together during the preseason—in all three matches. And while the scoresheet hasn’t necessarily reflected this cohesive play, Cropper remains confident ahead of tonight’s match.

With a little help from the Revolution midfield, he believes his team can hang tough.

“I just think that with [Xavier] Kouassi, Scotty [Caldwell], and all these guys being fit in the midfield, I think that bodes well for us going into the game.”

Match Details

Kick-off time: 9:00 p.m. ET
Location: Providence Park, Portland, Ore.
TV Broadcast: ESPN 2
Streaming: WatchESPN

Projected Lineups

New England: Cody Cropper; Andrew Farrell, Antonio Delamea, Benjamin Angoua, Chris Tierney; Scott Caldwell, Xavier Kouassi, Lee Nguyen, Diego Fagundez; Juan Agudelo, Kei Kamara

Portland: Jake Gleeson; Alvas Powell, Lawrence Olum, Roy Miller, Zarek Valentin; David Guzman, Diego Chara; Sebastian Blanco, Diego Valeri, Darlington Nagbe; Fanendo Adi