clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Revolution vs. Minnesota United: Headlines, lineups and match details

The Revolution home opener kicks off at 2 p.m. ET.

MLS: New England Revolution at Colorado Rapids Isaiah J. Downing-USA TODAY Sports

The last Revolution home match took place on October 23, 2016. Five months later, the club will square off with Minnesota United—a team that has only played one MLS home match in its history—at Gillette Stadium.

While playing in front of a home crowd for the first time this season, the Revs will do whatever it takes to pick up three points. Just ask Kei Kamara, who understands the importance of earning results at home.

“[When] we’re going to play at home, there’s only one thing we’re going to go for, which is three points,” Kamara said in a team release.

Added midfielder Diego Fagundez: “We play a lot better at home and we want to see that. I think all of us are excited to be home for the first time and show these fans that these two away games were tough, and now we’re ready to play. We’re going to show them a result.”

On the opposite side of the field, the Loons will have a similar goal in mind: securing its first win of the season. The club showed resolve last weekend during a 10-man draw with the Colorado Rapids, who beat the Revolution, 1-0, in week one.

Against the Revs, Minnesota will play without defenders Justin Davis (red card) and Francisco Calvo (international duty), as well as midfielders Kevin Molino, Johan Venegas and Rasmus Schuller, all of whom have represented their respective national teams over the past week.

Can the shorthanded Loons spoil the Revolution home opener? Tune into the action at 2 p.m. ET.

Match Details

Kick-off time: 2:00 p.m. ET
Location: Gillette Stadium, Foxboro, Mass.
TV Broadcast: CSN-NE (New England), My29 (Minnesota)
Streaming: MLS Live
Radio: 98.5 Sports Hub (New England), 1500 ESPN (Minnesota)

Projected Lineups

New England: Cody Cropper; Andrew Farrell, Antonio Delamea, Benjamin Angoua, Chris Tierney; Xavier Kouassi; Scott Caldwell, Diego Fagundez , Juan Agudelo; Lee Nguyen, Kei Kamara

Minnesota: Bobby Shuttleworth; Jerome Thiesson, Brent Kallman, Vadim Demidov, Jermaine Taylor; Collen Warner; Miguel Ibarra, Mohammed Saeid, Ibson, Bashkim Kadrii; Christian Ramirez