Mere minutes after referee Silviu Petrescu awarded FC Dallas a penalty kick, the New England Revolution got one of their own. Was it right for Petrescu to point to the spot? Let's take a look.
The play in question starts with a corner kick that creates chaos in the box. The ball eventually falls to Lee Nguyen, who's denied a touch by Victor Ulloa. Nguyen jumps up due to the contact, leading to a PK. Nguyen then stepped up to the spot and easily beats goalkeeper Chris Seitz to give his team a temporary lead.
Nguyen awarded a penalty. pic.twitter.com/9otwqwevjx— Total MLS (@TotalMLS) May 22, 2016
So, was it right to call a PK? Ulloa's challenge is high, which gives Petrescu enough of a reason to blow the whistle. Nguyen does oversell the contact, but it's understandable given how often he's fouled.
What do you think of the call? Vote in our poll or leave a comment below.