clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Was it right to call a PK against the Revolution?

New, 1 comment

Referee Silviu Petrescu awarded FC Dallas a penalty, but was it the right decision?

Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports

For the second time this season, the New England Revolution conceded a penalty just moments after the opening whistle. The most recent came on Saturday when referee Silviu Petrescu pointed to the spot after Bobby Shuttleworth collided with Michael Barrios. Tesho Akindele converted the ensuing PK, but did Petrescu make the right decision?

The trouble begins when Barrios is put in on goal by Carlos Gruezo. The speedster encounters Shuttleworth, who left the goal in hopes of neutralizing the threat. Shuttleworth ends up getting a piece of Barrios, leading to the penalty kick. The netminder was also shown a yellow card.

So was it a penalty? In my opinion, yes. Shuttleworth certainly fouls Barrios, who later left the game with an injury. The yellow card was also the right decision as Barrios didn't have a clear goal-scoring opportunity.

What do you think of the PK? Vote in our poll or let us know in the comments section below.