clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chris Tierney Named MLS Individual Fair Play Award Finalist

The Revs left back is the only club finalist named for the 2016 MLS Awards.

Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

Major League Soccer has announced their finalists for the 2016 season awards.

New England Revolution defender Chris Tierney is one of three finalists for the Individual Fair Play Award along with Chad Marshall of the Seattle Sounders and rookie Keegan Rosenberry of the Philadelphia Union.

The Revs are no strangers to the Fair Play Award, with former defender Michael Parkhurst winning the award three times, including twice with New England in 2007 and 2008. Steve Ralston has also won the award three times, once with the Revs in 2009 and twice with the now defunct Tampa Mutiny in 1999 and 2000. The New England Revolution have won the team award three times in 2003, 2008 and 2012.

The 2016 "Landon Donovan MVP" award will be an all New York affair, with Sacha Kljestan and Bradley Wright-Phillips of the Red Bulls and David Villa and NYCFC the three finalists.

The awards will be announced starting November 3rd and finishing with the MVP award on December 6th. The MLS First Team XI list will be released at a undetermined date. The individual and team Fair Play awards will be announced on November 4th.