clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Revolution Stars Left Off USMNT Gold Cup Roster

The Gold Cup roster has dropped, and it looks like the Revolution won't lose anybody to international duty next month. At least not for the group stage.

Soobum Im-USA TODAY Sports

Jurgen Klinsmann has named the 23 United States internationals who will represent the Yanks at the CONCACAF Gold Cup this summer, and he is leaving all of his New England Revolution options at home. Despite being selected to the 35-man provisional roster earlier this month, Juan Agudelo and Lee Nguyen will not be joining the national team for the group stages of the regional championship.

Each team that progresses out of the groups is allowed to make six changes to its roster ahead of the knockout rounds, so there's still a chance that one or both players could get the call during the tournament.

Nguyen's absence is perhaps unsurprising, as he has put in a lackluster year thus far in 2015. After an MVP-caliber season where he scored 18 goals and notched 5 assists, Nguyen has managed just one goal - a penalty - and three assists in fifteen matches. The Vietnamese-American playmaker has been distracted by a contract dispute, but in his defense, his play has improved of late.

Agudelo is perhaps a more glaring absence. Agudelo scored in the USA's most recent 2-0 victory over Mexico, and got the start during the famous 2-1 victory over Germany during the last set of international fixtures. There will be argument and debate over whether or not he would be more useful to the squad than Chris Wondolowski, who was named to the final roster.

The full 23 is as follows:

GOALKEEPERS: Brad Guzan (Aston Villa); Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake); William Yarbrough (Club Leon)

DEFENDERS: Ventura Alvarado (Club America); John Anthony Brooks (Hertha Berlin); Timmy Chandler (Eintracht Frankfurt); Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders); Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy); Fabian Johnson (Borussia Monchengladbach); Tim Ream (Bolton Wanderers)

MIDFIELDERS: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake); Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes); Michael Bradley (Toronto FC); Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo); Mix Diskerud (New York City FC); Alfredo Morales (Ingolstadt); DeAndre Yedlin (Tottenham Hotspur); Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy); Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

FORWARDS: Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC); Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders); Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar); Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)