clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Did the Revolution deserve a penalty kick?

New, 9 comments

The Revs are out of the playoffs, but did they deserve a penalty?

Brad Mills-USA TODAY Sports

All eyes were on referee Mark Geiger during stoppage time of Wednesday's playoff game between the New England Revolution and D.C. United. The man in the middle had a call to make as defender Sean Franklin appeared to have committed a handball in the box. No whistle was heard, which drew anger from Revolution players.

No player was more upset than Jermaine Jones, who marched toward Geiger. The captain was ultimately shown a red card, reducing the Revs to ten men during the match's final moments.

With the game tilted 2-1 in United's favor, the no-call was an crucial one. If a penalty was called, the Revs could have forced extra time.

A major reason that Revs nation felt so hard done was because Scott Caldwell was deemed to have committed a handling offense earlier in the half. Geiger pointed to the spot, but Chris Rolfe ultimately hit the post.

Journalist Jonathan Tannelwald posted a couple of pictures comparing the two infractions, which highlights the ref's inconsistency.

With all the evidence laid out, we want to hear from you. Did the Revs deserve a penalty? Vote in our poll or leave a comment below.