clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Revolution Reveal List of Protected, Unprotected Players Ahead of Expansion Draft

The Revolution revealed their list of protected and unprotected players on Monday. Although not one of the eleven protected players, a deal is in place to keep Diego Fagundez in New England.

Trevor Ruszkowski-USA TODAY Sports

With the Expansion Draft set for Wednesday, Dec. 10, the New England Revolution and the 18 other MLS teams announced their lists of protected players on Monday evening.

Each team is allowed to make eleven players ineligible for selection. Generation Adidas players and homegrown products that are on the Supplemental Roster are automatically protected. When it comes to international players, teams may make available three less than their total.

The Revolution protected many of the starters that played in the MLS Cup Final, including Jermaine Jones, Lee Nguyen, and Jose Goncalves. Teal Bunbury, who is reportedly out of contract after this season, is also on the list.

The Revolution’s list of available players includes important contributors like Patrick Mullins, Darrius Barnes and Steve Neumann. AJ Soares, who is rumored to be exploring European options, has also been left exposed.

One name that appears on the unprotected list that is actually safe is Diego Fagundez. The teenager, who recently earned a call up to Uruguay’s U-20 team, will avoid selection because of a deal that is in place between the Revolution and both NYCFC and Orlando City SC. Club president Brian Bilello revealed the news via Twitter:

Orlando Sentinel reporter Paul Tenorio gave more information about the deal when he sent the following tweet:

Below is a list of available and unavailable players for the Revolution:

Available Players

Darrius Barnes

Jerry Bengston

Andy Dorman

Diego Fagundez

Brad Knighton

Stephen McCarthy

Joe Nasco

AJ Soares

Tony Taylor

Andre Akpan

Larry Jackson

Shalrie Joseph

Patrick Mullins

Steven Neumann

Jossimar Sanchez

Donnie Smith

Luis Soffner

Alec Sundly

Protected Players

Kevin Alston

Teal Bunbury

Charlie Davies

Andrew Farrell

Jose Goncalves

Jermaine Jones

Daigo Kobayashi

Lee Nguyen

Kelyn Rowe

Robert Shuttleworth

Chris Tierney

Homegrown Players exempt from selection

Scott Caldwell